The Cognitive Labor Institute (CLI) conducts and supports research at AAER, disseminating the latest outputs from our centers, and is associated with 9 Scopus-indexed journals. The CLI is also official partner of Economics, Management, and Financial Markets (editors: Dimitria Electra Gatzia, University of Akron Wayne College, and Christopher Olds, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley), Journal of Self-Governance and Management Economics (editors: Leo Bin, University of Illinois at Springfield, and Clement Tisdell, The University of Queensland), and Psychosociological Issues in Human Resource Management (editors: Hershey H. Friedman and Linda W. Friedman, City University of New York). Interdisciplinary since its inception, the CLI brings together more than 50 research fellows with an excellent record of publications in the Web of Science.

Our research products have been peer-reviewed by scholars affiliated with first-rate US-based universities.

The On-Demand Economy Research Unit, Philadelphia, PA
Director: Donna Ansley

The Networked Governance Research Unit, Boulder, CO
Director: Laura Ashander

The Sustainable Industrial Networks Research Unit, Springfield, IL
Director: Anne Flygare

The Technological Unemployment Research Unit, Berkeley, CA
Director: Philipp Furnham

The Automated Production Systems Research Unit, Ann Arbor, MI
Director: Adrian Gill-Cox

The Cognitive Automation Research Unit, New Haven, CT
Director: Scott Graessley

The Innovative Sustainable Business Models Research Unit, Syracuse, NY
Director: Louise H. Graham

The Behavioral and Consumer Neuroscience Laboratory, Dallas, TX
Director: Timothy Grossman

The Business Automation Laboratory, Madison, WI
Director: Cheryl Groucutt

The Smart Economy Laboratory, Durham, NC
Director: Johanna Grudin

The Center for Algorithmic Labor, Newark, NJ
Director: Eileen Hardingham

The Center for Platform-based Economy, Austin, TX
Director: Duncan Hawkley

The Center for Machine Ethics, Seattle, WA
Director: Terry Hayhoe

The Smart Mobility Laboratory, Denver, CO
Director: Bart Hecht
The Center for Automated Digital Systems, Las Vegas, NV
Director: Harvey Kearney

The Center for Social Media and Digital Technology, Baltimore, MD
Director: Raffaella Kirby

The Sustainable Urban Mobility Laboratory, Atlanta, GA
Director: John Koppel

The Center for Gig Economy, Kansas City, MO
Director: Katherine Lachman
The Online Labor Platforms Laboratory, Cincinnati, OH
Director: Maria Durlauf
The Sharing Economy Platforms Laboratory, Montreal
Director: Jerome Deggans

The Center for Online Platform Economy, Toronto
Director: Brigitte Culkin

The Center for Cognitive Technology-driven Automation, Ottawa
Director: Darren Chessell

The Center for Digital Labor Markets, Sydney
Director: Melissa Connolly-Barker
The Center for Precision Medicine, Manchester
Director: Tessa Blanton

The Personalized Health Care Laboratory, Belfast
Director: Shirley Berke

The Center for Labor Research and Education, Chicago, IL
Director: Michael Rowthorn

The Social Science Research Unit, Washington, DC
Director: George Lazaroiu

The Center for Labor Economics, Hamburg
Director: Donna Ansley

The Labor Center for Economic and Public Policy, Stockholm
Director: Constance Ranki

The Social Analytics Laboratory, Los Angeles, CA
Director: Stacy Hodgkins

The Digital Dynamics Laboratory, Miami, FL
Director: Odile Throne

The Health Economics Research Unit, Glasgow
Director: Gavin Sheares


Contemporary Science Association is a research and development unit that features links, descriptions and other information for thousands of academic journals in all disciplines, collates information from a variety of sources to conveniently provide access to the latest scholarly research, and is devoted to the advancement of electronic scholarly communication. 


Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies in Humanities and Social Sciences was founded in 2009 to advance scholarship in the various fields of science through research. Its international conferences have been associated with scholars from University of Pennsylvania, Michigan State University, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, Philadelphia University, Arizona State University, Montclair State University, University of Newcastle, St. Mary’s University-San Antonio, University of Gloucestershire, University of Paris-Sorbonne Paris IV, University of Provence Aix-Marseille I, University of Franche-Comté, University of Avignon, Paris Descartes University, Paris-Est Créteil University, University Paris Ouest Nanterre la Défense, Charles de Gaulle University-Lille III, University of Vienna, University of Palermo, University of Pavia, University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, and Rey Juan Carlos University.